Triple Crown Betting History, Winners and Records

November 30, 2010 Horseracing

Triple Crown betting history, winners and records for the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes and Belmont Stakes.

The ultimate goal for horse owners, trainers and jockeys is to win the beloved Triple Crown. In order to claim the title, a horse must win three races; the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes and the Belmont.

A difficult task to accomplish since a race horse must win at three different race tracks, all at different lengths. In Triple Crown history, only 11 race horses over the span of 125 years have won and none have done so since Affirmed in 1978. Will Street Sense be the next Triple Crown champion?

Winning this prestigious title is without a doubt the most demanding part of horseracing and horse betting alike. A horse must first capture the Kentucky Derby at Churchill Downs, then win the Preakness Stakes at Pimlico and finally earn victory in the Belmont Stakes at Belmont Park.

The Triple Crown dates are run during a span of only five weeks from May to June which makes betting on the Triple Crown a fearsome challenge.

The difficult Triple Crown schedule makes it hard for the many thoroughbred 3-year-old horses as they attempt to shatter past Triple Crown records.  The three races are run in just five weeks and at different distances which is tricky for some horses, jockeys and horse bettors.

In 2006, a horse betting proposition offered a 1/9 payout if a horse was to win the Triple Crown for the first time in 28 years. The reason why chasing down Triple Crown history is so special, is that very few horses have actually won.

According to Triple Crown history, the term “Triple Crown” is credited to sportswriter Charles Hatton who; wrote about Gallant Fox, the second horse ever to win the Triple Crown. The first Triple Crown winner was Sir Barton in 1919.  Sir Barton actually won all three races before the term came into existence. The difficulty of the task has produced horse betting depression for the many long breaks in Triple Crown history waiting for another champion.

After Citation’s win in 1948, it would take another 25 years before a race horse would make Triple Crown history once again.  It was definitely worth the wait though as the winning horse in 1973 was Secretariat, who thrilled horse betting fans and made Triple Crown history by setting records that to this day have not been beat (Kentucky Derby Time: 2:02.17).

Horse betting fans had to wait four more years until Seattle Slew captured the Triple Crown in 1977.  The most recent Triple Crown winner was Affirmed in 1978 with jockey Steve Cauthen aboard.

Many horses have come close to winning the Triple Crown since 1978 including Afleet Alex who won two of the three in 2005 and Smarty Jones who won two of three in 2004 to the excitement of many horse betting fans.  2006 was a sad occasion when Barbaro looked like he would make Triple Crown history but was injured in the Preakness.  In 2008, big brown has won the 134th Kentucky Derby and looks to extend his Triple Crown dreams in the upcoming Preakness Stakes. Here is a look at the list of past Triple Crown winners and then look at those who almost made Triple Crown history.


Triple Crown Winners
Year Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1978 Affirmed Steve Cauthen Laz Barrera Harbor View Farm
1977 Seattle Slew Jean Cruguet Billy Turner Karen Taylor
1973 Secretariat Ron Turcotte Lucien Laurin Meadow Stable

Citation Eddie Arcaro Ben A. Jones Calumet Farm
1946 Assault Warren Mehrtens Max Hirsch King Ranch
1943 Count Fleet Johnny Longden Don Cameron Mrs. J.D. Hertz
1941 Whirlaway Eddie Arcaro Ben A. Jones Calumet Farm
1937 War Admiral Charley Kurtsinger George Conway Samuel Riddle
1935 Omaha Willie Saunders J.E. Fitzsimmons Belair Stud
1930 Gallant Fox Earl Sande J.E. Fitzsimmons Belair Stud
1919 Sir Barton Johnny Loftus H. Guy Bedwell J.K.L. Ross

In Triple Crown history, a total of 47 horses have won two legs and just missed being a Triple Crown winner. Of those, sixteen have won the Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes only to be beaten in the Belmont Stakes and denied Triple Crown winners history. Two others race horses; Burgoo King (1932) and Bold Venture (1936), won the Derby and Preakness but were forced out of the Belmont with a bowed tendon that effectively ended their racing careers.

In 1978, Alydar finished second to Affirmed in all three horse races, the only time that has happened in Triple Crown and horse betting history. It is also important to note that the Preakness preceded the Kentucky Derby in 1922, 1923 and 1931 according to Triple Crown records.  Here is a look at Triple Crown races in which a horse had two of the three Triple Crown wins but missed out on becoming a horse racing Triple Crown winner.

Near Triple Crown Winners

Year Horse Kentucky Derby Preakness Stakes Belmont Stakes
2005 Afleet Alex 3rd 1st 1st
2004 Smarty Jones 1st 1st 2nd
2003 Funny Cide 1st 1st 3rd
2002 War Emblem 1st 1st 8th
2001 Point Given 5th 1st 1st
1999 Charismatic 1st 1st 3rd
1998 Real Quiet 1st 1st 2nd
1997 Silver Charm 1st 1st 2nd
1995 Thunder Gulch 1st 3rd 1st
1994 Tabasco Cat 6th 1st 1st
1991 Hansel 10th 1st 1st
1989 Sunday Silence 1st 1st 2nd
1988 Risen Star 3rd 1st 1st
1987 Alysheba 1st 1st 4th
1984 Swale 1st 7th 1st
1981 Pleasant Colony 1st 1st 3rd
1979 Spectacular Bid 1st 1st 3rd
1976 Bold Forbes 1st 3rd 1st
1974 Little Current 5th 1st 1st
1972 Riva Ridge 1st 4th 1st
1971 Canonero II 1st 1st 4th
1969 Majestic Prince 1st 1st 2nd
1968 Forward Pass 1st* 1st 2nd
1967 Damascus 3rd 1st 1st
1966 Kauai King 1st 1st 4th
1964 Northern Dancer 1st 1st 3rd
1963 Chateaugay 1st 2nd 1st
1961 Carry Back 1st 1st 7th
1958 Tim Tam 1st 1st 2nd
1956 Needles 1st 2nd 1st
1955 Nashua 2nd 1st 1st
1953 Native Dancer 2nd 1st 1st
1950 Middleground 1st 2nd 1st
1949 Capot 2nd 1st 1st
1944 Pensive 1st 1st 2nd
1942 Shut Out 1st 5th 1st
1940 Bimelech 2nd 1st 1st
1939 Johnstown 1st 5th 1st
1936 Bold Venture 1st 1st dns
1932 Burgoo King 1st 1st dns
1931 Twenty Grand 1st 2nd 1st
1923 Zev 1st 12th 1st
1922 Pillory Dns 1st 1st
1920 Man o’ War Dns 1st 1st
1895 Belmar Dns 1st 1st
1881 Saunterer Dns 1st 1st
1880 Grenada Dns 1st 1st
1878 Duke of Magenta Dns 1st 1st
1877 Cloverbrook Dns 1st 1st

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on TumblrPin on PinterestEmail this to someone
To the Top