CFL Betting Remains Postponed Indefinitely for 2020 Season

CFL Betting Remains Postponed Indefinitely for 2020 Season

June 16th, 2020 CFL Football, Offshore Betting

Canadian Football League fans and gamblers will have to wait until at least August if not September of 2020 for the season to resume. Regina, who was supposed to host the Grey Cup game, will have to wait until 2022. Instead, the team with the best regular-season record playing in the Grey Cup game will get to host it. Normally the CFL betting season ends in November. However, for 2020 the season will carry well into December. Hamilton will host the 2021 Grey Cup.

2020 Odds to win the CFL Grey Cup:

Hamilton Tiger-Cats +325
Saskatchewan Roughriders +500
Winnipeg Blue Bombers+600
Calgary Stampeders +600
Edmonton Eskimos+700
British Columbia Lions +700
Toronto Argonauts+1000
Montreal Alouettes+1000
Ottawa Redblacks +1600

Bet Now on this Game

2020 Canadian Football League Overview

In sum, there are nine teams in the Canadian Football League with two divisions. The East Division is comprised of the Hamilton Tiger-Cats, Montreal Alouettes, Ottawa Redblacks, and Toronto Argonauts. While the West has the BC Lions, Calgary Stampeders, Edmonton Eskimos, Saskatchewan Roughriders, and Winnipeg Blue Bombers.

Under normal circumstances, the CFL offshore betting schedule is 18 games per team over a 21-week period. Following that is a six-team single-elimination playoff over three weeks.

Grey Cup Champions

Overall, the Edmonton Eskimos have the most total Grey Cup championships with 11. Edmonton’s last championship was in 2015. Eskimos fans have suffered eight Grey Cup losses. Edmonton is tied with the Hamilton Tiger-Cats for Grey Cup appearances at 19. Hamilton has won six Grey Cups in their history. However, the Tiger-Cats’ last championship was all the way back in 1999.

Last year the Winnipeg Blue Bombers defeated Hamilton in the Grey Cup 33-12. Winnipeg has won a total of eight Grey Cup titles. Before last year the Calgary Stampeders had made the Grey Cup championship three straight seasons. And five of the prior seven campaigns. The Stamps were the 2014 and 2018 CFL Betting

Unique Rules Emphasize Passing

Compared to America football the CFL field is bigger. For example, it is 110 yards long instead of 100. And the CFL field is 65 yards wide compared to 53.3 in the American version. Also, the Canadian football end zone is 10 yards deeper than the American designed football field. Goalposts in the CFL are on the actual goal line. While in America the goalposts are on the end line.

Next, the downs are different as well. CFL teams must make 10 yards in three downs. For American football, they get four downs to make 10 yards.

Yet another key difference is that CFL teams will have 12 players on the field at one time. American teams have 11 players on the field.

Fashion that in Canadian football any player behind the line of scrimmage can move. In American football, only one player is allowed in motion.

With these different rules, Canadian football tends to be even more wide open than the American game. With three downs and that extra space, the passing game is emphasized. CFL teams can’t afford for a running play to gain little or nothing.

CFL Television Coverage

American sports giant ESPN televises CFL games. It follows that the CFL is most popular before NFL preseason games begin. For 2020 both leagues are expected to be playing at the same time all season.

To the Top