2008 Indianapolis 500 Betting at SBG Global

Indianapolis 500 betting on the 2008 Indy 500 will get underway on Sunday, May 25th from the historic Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Ganassi driver Scott Dixon won the pole and is the Indy 500 betting favorite. Indianapolis 500 history has shown that the pole sitter doesn’t always win in Indy 500 betting.

Indy 500 betting history shows that the pole sitter has won the race 18 times. That sounds like a lot until you realize that there have been 91 races. Still, an almost 20% winning percentage is nothing to sneeze at in Indianapolis 500 betting. The next pole position in Indy 500 history with the most wins is the second spot with 11 wins. The third position has 10 victories in Indianapolis 500 betting.

The fourth position has six wins, the 5th position 7 wins, the 6th position four wins and the 7th position five wins. What this says in Indianapolis 500 history is that a car starting outside of the 7th position has a lot of work to do. Cars starting in positions outside of the Top 20 have virtually no chance in Indianapolis 500 betting. There have been only seven wins in Indy 500 betting history from starting positions outside the Top 20 and none since 1974.

Indianapolis 500 history shows that the first Indianapolis 500 was held in 1911. The track was sold to Anton Hulman Jr. in 1945. There has been an Indianapolis 500 each year since 1946. Indy 500 betting history tells us that the 500 miles take 200 laps to complete. Ray Harroun won the first Indianapolis 500 in 1911 in six hours, 42 minutes and eight seconds according to Indianapolis 500 betting history. Three drivers have won the Race four times each. They are A.J. Foyt (1961, 1964, 1967, 1977); Al Unser (1970, 1971, 1978, 1987) and Rick Mears (1979, 1984, 1988, 1991).

One Indy 500 betting tradition sees the winner drink milk in victory lane. That tradition began in 1936 because three-time winner Louis Meyer had the habit of drinking it. He did so after his win in 1936 and the Milk Foundation made sure that tradition continued in subsequent years.