Final Four Line History at SBG Global

December 1, 2010 NCAA Basketball

Final Four line history tells us that the first NCAA Tournament was held in 1939.

That first tourney only had eight teams and didn’t draw many fans. Things have sure changed since then as March Madness odds are extremely popular and the tournament draws over 700,000 fans each year.

Final Four line history tells us that until the 1950’s the NIT was the big tournament and many teams preferred that tournament over the NCAA. Teams were actually known to play in both tournaments and Utah and Kentucky actually lost in the NIT but went on to win the NCAA Title. Up until 1975 each conference could only have one school in the tournament. The 1975 tournament expanded to allow 32 teams. The following season Indiana under head coach Bob Knight went undefeated and won the title.
The tourney expanded to 40 teams in 1979 and it was an exciting Final Four line and Championship game as Magic Johnson led Michigan State to a win over Larry Bird and Indiana State. March Madness odds history tells us that the TV rating for the game is still the highest ever for a college basketball game.

Final Four line history shows that in 1980 the tournament expanded to 48 teams. Final Four line history shows that the tourney expanded to 53 teams in 1983. That same year was one of the biggest upsets in national title history and in Final Four line history as NC State upset heavily favored Houston. Final Four line history shows that the tournament expanded to 64 teams in 1985. Another major upset occurred that season as Villanova upset Georgetown and Patrick Ewing in Final four line odds. The Wildcats are the lowest seed to ever win the Championship. They were a #8 seed. In 1991 Duke upset undefeated UNLV on the Final Four line to ruin the Rebels perfect season.

Final Four line history shows that 2002 was the first year the tourney went to the “pod” system where teams play closer to home. 2007 was a historic year in March Madness odds as Florida became the first team since Duke in 1992 to win back-to-back titles.

March Madness odds history shows that UCLA has the most titles with 11 while Kentucky is second with 7. The most consecutive titles record may never be broken as UCLA won seven straight from 1967-73. No other team has won more than two straight. Final Four line history shows that North Carolina and UCLA have made the most Final Four appearances with 16 while Kentucky has made the most overall tourney appearances with 49.

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on TumblrPin on PinterestEmail this to someone
To the Top