Tiger Leads U.S. to Win in Presidents Cup Sportsbooks

August 29th, 2017 Sportsbook

Sportsbooks had the U.S. team favored in the Presidents Cup and the U.S. team led by Tiger Woods did not disappoint and they easily dispatched the International squad.

Tiger routed Y.E. Yang in the clinching match and the U.S. was the winner at the offshore sportsbook.

Sportsbooks couldn’t favor the U.S. team enough as bettors supported Tiger and his teammates. Tiger was so dominant that he became only the third player in Presidents Cup history to win all five matches. While Tiger got the attention at the sportsbooks, Phil Mickelson also did very well for the U.S. team as he went 4-0-1 in his five matches. The U.S. team won at the sportsbooks by a score of 19.5 to 14.5 over the International team.

Sportsbooks have seen the U.S. win six times with only one loss and one draw since the Presidents Cup began in 1994. The U.S. is a perfect 5-0 in the United States. “I’m sure we tried our best all week,” Geoff Ogilvy said, “Coming in today, we had too much to do and the U.S. team was obviously very motivated.” The U.S. team had far too much for Ogilvy and the International squad. Stewart Cink routed a poor performing Adam Scott on Sunday in offshore sportsbook results while Sean O’Hair, Hunter Mahan and Anthony Kim got offshore sportsbook wins. International hotshot Camilo Villegas was the only player to not pick up a point this offshore sportsbook week in any of his matches.

The sports betting story at the sportsbooks for this event was Woods as he went 5-0 on the week. Sportsbooks have him joining Mark O’Meara and Shigeki Maruyama as the only players to win all five matches in Presidents Cup history. Tiger has history of his own though as his total of 18 victories is the most of any player in the Presidents Cup. Tiger and Steve Stricker were simply fantastic together as they became the first pair in Presidents Cup history to win all four of their matches.

The only two International players to make any online betting noise were Tim Clark who routed Zach Johnson on Sunday, Ryo Ishikawa who upset Kenny Perry and Vijay Singh who was 2-0-3 for the International team.

Sportsbooks indicate that the next time the Presidents Cup will be played will be in 2011 at Royal Melbourne in Australia. It is the site of the only International team victory. With the Presidents Cup win, the U.S. holds the Ryder Cup and Presidents Cup titles at the same time for the first time since 2000.

To the Top