MLB Betting Odds to Win each American League Division

August 1st, 2019 MLB Baseball, Sportsbook

MLB betting odds to win American League East

Baltimore Orioles +910

Boston Red Sox -140 

New York Yankees +500
Tampa Bay Rays +1875
Toronto Blue Jays +365

Excluding the 2016 World Series champions the Chicago Cubs, fans who bet on baseball favor the Red Sox more than any other team, so it goes without saying that the Boston club is lock to win not only the AL East but also the American League proper. It might be worth noting though, that even though the BoSox won the division last season, they have yet to win back-to-back divisional titles. Additionally, the Sox were swept in the 2016 American League Division Series by eventual World Series runner-ups the Cleveland Indians. Boston’s stiffest competition will come from the Blue Jays, who in January availed themselves of the services of Jose Bautista and his at least 20 home runs per season in exchange for a one-year, $18 million contract.

MLB betting odds to win American League Central

Chicago White Sox +4550

Cleveland Indians -410 

Detroit Tigers +510

Kansas City Royals +1220
Minnesota Twins +2850

The Indians took almost 10 years to win their eighth AL Central division title, but they did win their first five in a row between 1995 and 1999. They also broke a 20-year American League pennant drought last season, so perhaps this year they will finally win their first World Series since 1948 – though fans who bet on baseball will be skeptical after Cleveland came so close (but no cigar) against the Cubs.  The Indians signed three-time All Star and 2016 American League RBI leader Edwin Encarnación to a $60 million, three year deal on January. The Tigers, on the other hand, illustrate perfectly the importance of winning the division. Detroit finished second last season with an 86-75 record but still missed the postseason.

MLB betting odds to win American League West

Houston Astros +110 

Los Angeles Angels +1125
Oakland Athletics +2300
Seattle Mariners +310
Texas Rangers +310

The Astros have not won a division since the NL Central title in 2001, which of course means they haven’t won zero divisional titles since moving to the AL West in 2013. Moreover, they finished third in the division last season. Yet, Houston is the favorite of people who bet on baseball to win their first AL title this year. Why? Because the Astros have managed to put together that highly sought-after combination of youth, experience and talent that has eluded them for so long, including the likes of Carlos Correa, George Springer, Alex Bregman, Josh Reddick, Nori Aoki, Carlos Beltran and Brian McCann. As for the current reigning and defending divisional champions the Texas Rangers, they are tied for second favourite with the Seattle Mariners. The Rangers recently signed catcher Robinson Chirinos to a one-year extension and interested in re-signing Jonathan Lucroy. Meanwhile, the Mariners – like the Tigers – failed to make the playoffs last year in spite of finishing second in the division. Seattle has acquired Yovani Gallardo, Jarrod Dyson, Drew Smyly and others during the offseason.

To the Top