Hart Trophy Winner a Surprise to Online Betting Gamblers

Hart Trophy Winner a Surprise to Online Betting Gamblers. Online betting gamblers were definitely surprised on Wednesday night as Vancouver’s Henrik Sedin won the Hart Trophy that goes to the NHL MVP. It was expected in Internet betting that Washington’s Alex Ovechkin would win the award for the third straight season but Sedin was the surprise winner.

Online betting gamblers didn’t expect Sedin to take the top NHL award.  He did have 83 assists to lead the league but he was not a big goal scorer. Sedin got 46 of 133 first-place votes while Ovechkin was second with 40. Pittsburgh’s Sidney Crosby was third with 20 first-place votes.  Sedin had 894 total points while Ovechkin had 834.  Sedin said that he had no idea that he could win the Hart Trophy. He was not alone in the surprise.  The NHL Players Association earlier in the awards show gave the top player of the year award to Ovechkin. Sedin did lead the league with 112 points.  Crosby was second with 109 points and he tied for the goal scoring lead with 51.

The other major award on Wednesday was the Vezina Trophy that went to the NHL’s top goaltender.  Ryan Miller of the Buffalo Sabres took that award, winning over New Jersey’s Martin Brodeur and Phoenix goaltender Ilya Bryzgalov.  Miller was fourth in the league with 41 wins as online betting stats indicated. Brodeur led the league with 45 wins and nine shutouts.  Brodeur also led the league in games played and in fewest team goals against.

The Calder Trophy, for Rookie of the Year went to Buffalo defenseman Tyler Myers who beat out Colorado’s Matt Duchene and Detroit’s Jimmy Howard.  The Jack Adams Award for coach of the year went to Phoenix Coyote head coach Dave Tippett who led the Coyotes to the playoffs for the first time since 2002.  The Coyotes won 50 games this online betting season which was a franchise record and they finished with 107 points.

The Norris Trophy for the league’s top defenseman went to Chicago’s Duncan Keith. Detroit’s Pavel Datsyuk won the Frank J. Selke Trophy as the league’s top defensive forward. Tampa Bay’s Martin St. Louis won the Lady Byng for the sportsmanship award as he had only 12 penalty minutes last Internet betting hockey season.


To the Top