Bookmaker – Former Super Bowl MVP Wins Dancing with the Stars

May 31st, 2011 Offshore Bookmaker

The latest season of Dancing with the Stars wrapped up on Tuesday and former Super Bowl MVP Hines Ward, who was the favorite at the bookmaker, took home the trophy.

The Pittsburgh Steelers wide receiver was one of the main contenders all year in Internet bookmaker odds and he won the final as he beat out Kirstie Alley and Chelsea Kane.

Season 12 Champ
Athletes have done very well in Dancing with the Stars and Hines Ward added his name to the list as he took the Season 12 title.  Throughout Season 12 it was Hines leading the way and he was always one of the main favorites at the bookmaker.  Dancing with professional partner Kym Johnson, Hines continued to get better each week.  Hines won the award thanks to his excellent dancing and because of the fan’s voting. There was not much doubt that he was the better dance than Kirstie Alley who came in second but her fan support made the results closer than perhaps they should have been.  All three of the couples got perfect scores from the judges on Tuesday night in their final dances so it was up to the voters to decide.  Hines Ward was tied coming into the final in scoring with Kane with Alley in third place.  The voters though came through for Alley and she was able to move up to second place.  She was a favorite of the fans all year long and even though she was not the best dancer she did improve throughout the season.  It was another failure for her partner Maksim Chmerkovskiy who has yet to finish in first place in the 12 seasons.  Kane finished in third place but the 22-year old who danced with Mark Ballas was not upset at finishing third.

Celebrity Filled Finale
The season finale on Tuesday featured many past celebrity contestants including Wendy Williams, Kendra Wilkinson and Sugar Ray Leonard. The finale also featured performances from the Black Eyed Peas, the Go-Go’s, Josh Groban and Sara Evans.

Hines Ward is the fifth professional athlete to win Dancing with the Stars and the second NFL player to win as Emmitt Smith won the title in 2006.  Odds for the 13th season of Dancing with the Stars will be on the board at Sbg in September with the first show set to air on September 19th.

To the Top