Hockey Betting – Canucks Headed for Stanley Cup Finals

October 9th, 2017 NHL Hockey

The Vancouver Canucks are head for the Stanley Cup Finals for the first time in 17 years after beating the San Jose Sharks in hockey betting.

The Canucks won the Western Conference finals three games to one with the clinching game in NHL hockey betting coming at home on Tuesday night.

Canucks Win Game 5 in Double Overtime
The Canucks defeated the Sharks 3-2 in double overtime on Tuesday night as Kevin Bieksa scored the game winner.  Goaltender Roberto Luongo made 54 saves and the Canucks eliminated the Sharks.  The Canucks will now face either Boston or Tampa Bay in the Stanley Cup Finals.  Vancouver will be favored in NHL hockey betting at SBG in the Stanley Cup Finals because they will have the home ice advantage in the best-of-seven game series.

Good Luck for Canucks
Vancouver was outplayed for most of Game 5 on Tuesday night but they got lucky when the linesmen missed a call on an icing and Ryan Kesler scored the tying goal with 13 seconds left in regulation to send the game into overtime. The Canucks then won the game in double overtime when Alex Edler’s dump-in went off the boards and the only person to see the puck was Kevin Bieksa. He shot it on goal and it went past San Jose goaltender Antti Niemi before anyone realized what had happened. The Sharks outshot the Canucks 91-47 over the last two games of the series but ended up with two losses. Vancouver becomes one of only five teams to make the Stanley Cup finals off a double overtime win in the clinching game. The Canucks will make their first trip to the Stanley Cup Finals since losing in 1994 to the New York Rangers in seven games in hockey betting. The Canucks also lost in the 1982 Stanley Cup Finals to the New York Islanders in four straight games.

Stanley Cup Drought
The Canucks have never won the Stanley Cup so they will be looking for their first title.  They have the fifth longest streak without winning a Stanley Cup trailing only the Toronto Maple Leafs whose last title was in 1967 and the Los Angeles Kings, St. Louis Blues and Buffalo Sabres who have also never won the Stanley Cup.

To the Top