Preakness Stakes Betting

Preakness Stakes betting began in the spring of 1873 at Pimlico in Baltimore, Maryland. The Preakness Stakes was founded by then-Maryland governor Oden Bowie. The horse race had seven entries, with Survivor galloping to an easy ten length victory, the largest in Preakness stakes betting history. In 1890 the Preakness was run at Morris Park in New York, and in 1891, 1892, and 1893 it wasn’t run at all. From 1894 to 1908 the Preakness was held at the Gravesend racetrack in Brooklyn, New York.

The Preakness did not return to its Pimlico Race Course home until 1909. Ever since the 1909 Preakness, won by Effendi, the Preakness has been held at Pimlico every year. In 1918, 26 horses were entered as Preakness betting choices, forcing the race to be run in two divisions. The next year Sir Barton became the first Triple Crown winner in horseracing.

The winner of the Preakness receives the Woodlawn Vase, one of the richest trophies in sports, created by Tiffany in 1860 and valued at well over $1 million. The Preakness Stakes betting winner also gets a blanket of “black-eyed Susans,” Maryland’s state flower for winning. Since black-eyed Susans aren’t in bloom at that time of the year, the blanket is actually made of daisies dyed to look like the real thing for the Preakness.

The Preakness has been run at several different distances. It was 1 1/2 miles from 1873 through 1888 and in 1890 while in 1889 it went to 1 1/4. The Preakness horse racing distance then went to 1 1/16 miles from 1894 through 1900 and in 1908. From 1901 through 1907 the distance was 1 mile and 70 yards. The distance for the Preakness was only 1 mile in 1909 and 1910 and 1 1/8 miles from 1911 through 1924. The present Preakness Stakes distance of 1 3/16 miles was established in 1925.

The song of the Preakness Stakes is “Maryland, My Maryland.” The Kentucky Derby has the blanket of roses while the Preakness Stakes has the blanket of black-eyed susans. Another Preakness tradition has a painter climbing a ladder to the top of a replica of the Old Clubhouse cupola. He applies the colors of the victorious owner’s silks on the jockey and horse which are part of the weather vane at the top of the infield structure.

Another race on the Preakness Stakes betting card is the Barbaro Stakes. It was previously known as the Sir Barton Stakes but the Maryland Jockey Club changed the name of the race last year to the Barbaro Stakes. Barbaro was the 2006 Kentucky Derby winner and extremely popular race horse when an injury during the Preakness eventually cost him his life so the naming of the race is a tribute to him.

Preakness Stakes betting is not as popular as Kentucky Derby betting but it does have its place. Preakness Stakes horse betting will almost always have the Kentucky Derby winner as the horse racing betting favorite. Betting on the Preakness Stakes gives you a chance to make money if the Derby winner does not win the Preakness.

Many people that look at horse wagering love to bet on Triple Crown races. Betting the Preakness plays a major role in that decision. SBG Global offers horse racing betting tips for all of the Triple Crown betting races, including the Preakness. Online horse racing betting players look at the Preakness as a race for the favorite and that is usually the case.

The 132nd Preakness Stakes on May 19th may see another favorite do well as Street Sense seems to be the logical choice. Those that look at Preakness betting also have an eye on the Belmont Stakes as horse racing experts always get excited about a possible Triple Crown.

Here is a look at each of the Preakness Stakes winners and their jockeys.


2006 Bernardini J. Castellano1940 Bimelech F. Smith
2005 Afleet Alex J. Rose1939 Challedon G. Seabo
2004 Smarty Jones S. Elliott1938 Dauber M. Peters
2003 Funny Cide J. Santos1937 War Admiral C. Kurtsinger
2002 War Emblem V. Espinoza1936 Bold Venture G. Woolf
2001 Point Given G. Stevens1935 Omaha W. Saunders
2000 Red Bullet J. Bailey1934 High Quest R. Jones
1999 Charismatic C. Antley1933 Head Play C. Kurtsinger
1998 Real Quiet K. Desormeaux1932 Burgoo King E. James
1997 Silver Charm G. Stevens1931 Mate G. Ellis
1996 Louis Quatorze P. Day1930 Gallant Fox E. Sande
1995 Timber Country P. Day1929 Dr. Freeland L. Schaefer
1994 Tabasco Cat P. Day1928 Victorian R. Workman
1993 Prairie Bayou M. Smith1927 Bostonian A. Abel
1992 Pine Bluff C. McCarron1926 Display J. Maiben
1991 Hansel J. Bailey1925 Coventry C. Kummer
1990 Summer Squall P. Day1924 Nellie Morse J. Merimee
1989 Sunday Silence P. Valenzuela1923 Vigil B. Marinelli
1988 Risen Star E. Delahoussaye1922 Pillory L. Morris
1987 Alysheba C. McCarron1921 Broomspun F. Coltiletti
1986 Snow Chief A. Solis1920 Man o’ War C. Kummer
1985 Tank’s Prospect P. Day1919 Sir Barton J. Loftus
1984 Gate Dancer A. Cordero, Jr.1918 War Cloud (1st Edition) J. Loftus
1983 Deputed Testamony D. Miller, Jr.1918 Jack Hare Jr.(2nd Edition) C. Peak
1982 Aloma’s Ruler J. Kaenel1917 Kalitan E. Haynes
1981 Pleasant Colony J. Velasquez1916 Damrosch I. McAtee
1980 Codex A. Cordero, Jr.1915 Rhine Maiden D. Hoffman
1979 Spectacular Bid R. Franklin1914 Holiday Schuttinger
1978 Affirmed S. Cauthen1913 Buskin Butwell
1977 Seattle Slew J. Cruguet1912 Col. Holloway C. Turner
1976 Elocutionist J. Lively1911 Watervale E. Dugan
1975 Master Derby D. McHargue1910 Layminster Estep
1974 Little Current M. Rivera1909 Effendi W. Doyle
1973 Secretariat R. Turcotte1908 Royal Tourist E. Dugan
1972 Bee Bee Bee E. Nelson1907 Don Enrique G. Mountain
1971 Canonero II G. Avila1906 Whimsical W. Miller
1970 Personality E. Belmonte1905 Cairngorm W. Davis
1969 Majestic Prince W. Hartack1904 Bryn Mawr Hildebrand
1968 Forward Pass I. Valenzuela1903 Flocarline W. Gannon
1967 Damascus W. Shoemaker1902 Old England L. Jackson
1966 Kauai King D. Brumfield1901 The Parader Landry
1965 Tom Rolfe R. Turcotte1900 Hindus H. Spencer
1964 Northern Dancer W. Hartack1899 Half Time R. Clawson
1963 Candy Spots W. Shoemaker1898 Sly Fox W. Simms
1962 Greek Money J. Rotz1897 Paul Kauvar Thorpe
1961 Carry Back J. Sellers1896 Margrave H. Griffin
1960 Bally Ache R. Ussery1895 Belmar F. Taral
1959 Royal Orbit W. Harmatz1894 Assignee F. Taral
1958 Tim Tam I. Valenzuela1890 Montague W. Martin
1957 Bold Ruler E. Arcaro1889 Buddhist Anderson
1956 Fabius W. Hartack1888 Refund Littlefield
1955 Nashua E. Arcaro1887 Dunboyne W. Donohue
1954 Hasty Road J. Adams1886 The Bard Fisher
1953 Native Dancer E. Guerin1885 Tecumseh J. McLaughlin
1952 Blue Man C. McCreary1884 Knight of Ellerslie Fisher
1951 Bold E. Arcaro1883 Jacobus G. Barbee
1950 Hill Prince E. Arcaro1882 Vanguard Costello
1949 Capot T. Atkinson1881 Saunterer Costello
1948 Citation E. Arcaro1880 Grenada L. Hughes
1947 Faultless D. Dodson1879 Harold L. Hughes
1946 Assault W. Mehrtens1878 Duke of Magenta C. Holloway
1945 Polynesian W. Wright1877 Cloverbrook C. Holloway
1944 Pensive C. McCreary1876 Shirley G. Barbee
1943 Count Fleet J. Longden1875 Tom Ochiltree L. Hughes
1942 Alsab B. James1874 Culpepper W. Donohue
1941 Whirlaway E. Arcaro1873 Survivor G. Barbee


To the Top