2019 Vuelta a España Betting Preview and Predictions

2019 Vuelta a España Betting Preview

November 8th, 2018 Cycling

Online cycling betting used to be a closed niche of a community. But recently its popularity has become more mainstream thanks to the efforts of Alberto Contador, Bradley Wiggins and even Chris Froome. Their plights have ensured that the world of sports betting cycling is coming to the forefront of the public’s attention. Therefore, heading into the 2019 Vuelta a España, more eyes will be on the competitors than ever before. Naturally, this is great for both the sport and bettors alike. The sport benefits from more people tuning in, and more people tuning in means there’s more on the line when placing your betting predictions. So to help these bettors prep for the Tour of Spain, we’ve assembled a 2019 Vuelta a España betting preview. But before we dive into our preview, let’s take a look at which athletes, or countries, have had the most success at this event in recent past.

Recent Vuelta a España Winners

Year                ||                                  Winner                                   ||          Country

2018                ||                                  Simon Yates                           ||          Great Britain

2017                ||                                  Chris Froome                         ||          Great Britain

2016                ||                                  Nairo Quintana                      ||          Spain

2015                ||                                  Fabio Aru                               ||          Italy

2014                ||                                  Alberto Contador                   ||          Spain

2013                ||                                  Juan Jose Cobo                      ||          Spain

2012                ||                                  Alberto Contador                   ||          Spain

2011                ||                                  Juan Jose Cobo                      ||          Spain

2010                ||                                  Vincenzo Nibali                     ||          Italy

2009                ||                                  Alejandro Valverde               ||          Spain

2008                ||                                  Alberto Contador                   ||          Spain

2007                ||                                  Denis Menchov                      ||          Russia

2006                ||                                  Alexandre Vinokourov          ||          Kazakhstan

2005                ||                                  Denis Menchov                      ||          Russia

2004                ||                                  Roberto Heras                                    ||          Spain

2003                ||                                  Roberto Heras                                    ||          Spain

2002                ||                                  Aitor Gonzalez                       ||          Spain

2001                ||                                  Angel Caseri                          ||          Spain

Unsurprisingly, Spain has won 10 out of the last 18 competitions. Apparently the home field advantage is giving these Spanish lads a leg up over the competition in this online cycling betting event. This trend is importance because it makes it clear that betting on a Spaniard is more likely to pay off than taking another top-level competitor. However, it’s been two years since a Spanish cyclist risen to the challenge.  And even if you decide to back Spain, there are still a multitude of  sports betting Spanish options to pick from.

 2019 Vuelta a España Betting Preview

For those who are unfamiliar, the Vuelta a España is a three-week long Grand Tour cycling stage race. Generally it is scheduled from August to September. In 2019, the event will commence on the 24th of August and will continue up until the 15th of September. On top of that, this will the 74th rendition of the Vuelta a España and it will also bring an end to the 2019 cycling season. This event is very special considering that it is one of just 3 three-week long Grand Tours. Although the specific route changes every year, the race always finishes in front of gleaming fans in Madrid.

This time around the details will be revealed rather early, on December 19th to be exact. However, the Gran Salida (great start in Spanish), has already been revealed. The race will kick off from the breathtaking natural park Las Salinas de Torrevieja. Other than that, not much is known about the race. Because of this, the odds have yet to come out for this event. But once they do, last year’s winner Simon Yates is expected to be pegged as an odds-on online cycling betting favorite.

To the Top