Who’s Favored In the 2015 IPL Season?

March 23, 2015 Cricket

The 2015 Indian Premier League cricket season will be starting on April 8. The eight teams that will play Twenty20 cricket are going to be rather tight this year.

The Chennai Super Kings are 3/1 favorites to win the title this year. The team won last year’s CLT20 and was an IPL semifinalist last year. MS Dhoni will be returning for his eighth season with the Kings.

The Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore are both at 9/2 this season. While the Indians reached the playoffs last year, they fell off after being the champions of the IPL and CLT20 in 2013. Rohit Sharma had his lowest average ever with the Indians last year though.

The Royal Challengers will be led this year by Virat Kohli. His run total has consistently increased over the past couple of years.

The Kolkata Knight Riders won last year’s title but they are not favored by as much to repeat the act. The Riders are only listed at 5/1 to win the series. Gautam Gambhir has continued to impress in test matches in recent time but he will particularly become a big name for the Riders this year. This is in spite of the number of runs that he has been getting declining every year.

The worst odds tow in the 2015 IPL season title go to the Delhi Daredevils. The Daredevils are listed at 11/1 to win the title this year. The Daredevils have been struggling since the departures of Virender Sehwag and Irfan Pathan. In fact, the decision to not retain any players recently impacted the team and suggested a need to rebuild. The Daredevils do not even have any players that can be interpreted as a captain.

The 2015 IPL season will be attractive for everyone to watch this coming season. There is a very good potential for the IPL season to be close thanks in part to the many different star players that are expected to make an impact this year.

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on TumblrPin on PinterestEmail this to someone
To the Top