Online Cricket Betting Futures

July 15, 2014 Cricket

Two cricket betting events stand out in the near and distant future and they are the 2014 Caribbean Premier League and the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup. The Caribbean Premier League is a relatively new competition, having been created in 2013 to replace the Caribbean Twenty20 as the premier cricket competition in the Caribbean. The Jamaica Tallawahs won the inaugural tournament by defeating the Guyana Amazon Warriors. However, it’s the latter that are the favorites to win the upcoming edition, while the former are ranking next-to-last as far as oddsmakers go.

2014 Caribbean Premier League odds:

·       Guyana Amazon Warriors 11/4

·       St Lucia Zouks 7/2

·       Trinidad & Tobago Red Steel 7/2

·       Barbados Tridents 5/1

·       Jamaica Tallawahs 11/2

·       Antigua Hawksbills 13/2

Fun fact: Actor Gerard Butler is a shareholder in the Tallawahs; perhaps he could switch to King Leonidas mode and give a rousing speech and inspire the Jamaican team to an against-all-odds victory… come to think of it, that didn’t work so well in 300.

As for the ICC Cricket World Cup, this event needs no introduction, being considered the ICC’s flagship international tournament, and third in viewership only to the FIFA World Cup and the Summer Olympic Games. India is the reigning champion and second outright favorite to win next year’s Cup in Australia/New Zealand, right behind one of the hosts.

2015 ICC Cricket World Cup odds:

·       Australia 3/1

·       India 9/2

·       South Africa 9/2

·       Sri Lanka 7/1

·       England 8/1

·       New Zealand 8/1

·       Pakistan 8/1

·       West Indies 12/1

·       Bangladesh 100/1

·       Ireland 500/1

·       Zimbabwe 500/1

It’s very interesting to see how online cricket betting odds go from 12/1 for West Indies to 100/1 for Bangladesh, and then to 500/1 for Ireland and Zimbabwe. Also interestingly, India co-hosted 2011’s tournament and ended up winning it after defeating one of the other two co-hosts. Next year, Australia is also a co-host and favorite. Since Australia won 2007’s West Indies-hosted cup, the Aussie have a chance to prove that they can dominate both at home and away.

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on TumblrPin on PinterestEmail this to someone
To the Top