England And India 2019 Cricket World Cup Betting Favorites

England And India 2019 Cricket World Cup Betting Favorites

June 25th, 2019 Cricket, Sports Betting

At the onset of the 2019 Cricket World Cup, defending champion Australia opened as an understandable chalk.  Australia is the true name brand of cricket with a total of five World Cup championships.  In a similar way to rugby’s New Zealand team is Australia the face of the sport.  Further, the Aussies success makes them a consistent cricket world cup betting favorite in almost all of their matches.  England has also shown strength in the World Cup of Cricket.  The Three Lions have been runner up three times.  And India rates respect for their 2011 Cricket World Cup title.

2019 Crick World Cup Favorites

Now England is the top cricket world cup betting favorite at +185 with India right behind at +200.  Australia is a +300 betting choice with New Zealand at +600.  However, from there the choices are much longer shots.  Bangladesh and the West Indies are +5000 picks with Pakistan and South Africa at +6600.  Following that is Sri Lanka at +30000 and Afghanistan at +100000.

2019 Cricket World Cup Overview

To be exact sports betting on the Cricket World Cup will take place until July 14.  England and Wales are the host countries.  A total of 10 countries are participating with 48 matches scheduled.  The 10 teams are all placed in a single group.  Fashion that a total of 11 venues will be used for the competition.  Total prize money for the winner will be $4 million.  Subsequently $2 million will be paid to the runner up.  A total of $800,000 will be paid to the losing semi final teams.  Winners of each league stage match will receive $40,000.  Finally, teams that do not pass the league stage get $100,000.

New Zealand Expands Sports Empire?

Of course, everyone knows that New Zealand is the world power of rugby.  What may come as a cricket world cup betting surprise is their excellence in this sport.  First, New Zealand was the runner up in the 2015 Cricket World Cup.  Moreover, they started off the 2019 tournament with six consecutive wins.  Coach Gary Stead played for the national team in 1999.  He was appointed coach in 2018.  Supplementing Stead’s reputation was his success with New Zealand’s women’s team.  As a player he was a top-order batsman.

England Aims to be Inhospitable Host

Accordingly, England opened with four wins in their first six games.  At the beginning of the tournament they were ranked fourth in the world.  Of great concern was their group stage exit four years ago.  However, the Three Lions used that failure as motivational fuel.  Since that debacle England has modernized tactics and playing style.  Coach Trevor Bayliss played for South Wales from 1985 through 1987.  The native of Australia led Sri Lanka to the runner up finish in the 2011 World Cup.  Eoin Morgan is team captain and the team record holder for caps.

Aussie Rules

Overall Australia has a total of five World Cup championships.  Justin Langer was named full time coach May 3, 2018 after Darren Lehman resigned.  Langer is well regarded as a player for the national team from 1993-2007.  Namely captain Tim Paine is 34 years old and a well respected right handed batsman.  Paine is in his first year as team captain.  It follows that Australia won five of their first six tournament games.

To the Top