Indianapolis 500 Betting Favorites at SBG Global

Indianapolis 500 betting on the 2008 race will have pole-sitter Scott Dixon as one of the favorites.

Dixon is a slight favorite in Indianapolis 500 betting over two-time winner Helio Castroneves and 2005 winner Dan Wheldon. Indianapolis 500 winners definitely lead the list of contenders in 2008 Indianapolis 500 betting.

Indianapolis 500 betting for the 92nd running of the great race will be the 13th IndyCar Series event held at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. There are four past Indianapolis 500 winners entered in the race. They are 2005 winner Dan Wheldon, 2004 winner Buddy Rice, 2001 and 2002 winner Helio Castroneves and 1996 winner Buddy Lazier. Unfortunately, Indianapolis 500 winners have been watered down since the series has not had much talent the past decade or so. Rice and Lazier were perennial back of the field drivers when the Indy 500 was a key race.

Indianapolis 500 betting history tells us that a total of 11 drivers in this year’s race have led almost 1000 laps in history. Wheldon has led the most laps in Indianapolis 500 betting history at 204 followed closely by Tony Kanaan who has led 202 laps. Helio Castroneves has led 162 laps in Indianapolis 500 betting history followed by Tomas Scheckter with 148 laps. Other drivers in Indianapolis 500 betting who have led laps in the past are Rice, Lazier, Bruno Juqueira, Scott Dixon, Danica Patrick, Marco Andretti and Vitor Meira.

Tony Kanaan is a solid Indianapolis 500 betting choice. He has qualified in the top five in all six of his Indianapolis 500 starts. Castroneves has four straight top-10 starts while Danica Patrick has three straight top-10 starts in Indianapolis 500 betting history. Indianapolis 500 betting contenders Helio Castroneves and Dan Wheldon are the only drivers to complete all 683 laps in the current IndyCar season. Vitor Meira has gone 80 starts without a victory in the IndyCar Series. Buddy Lazier is the only driver to start every Indianapolis 500 since 1995 and is one of the few Indianapolis 500 winners in the race.

To the Top